Backlit Llama

By: danitacahill

Oct 25 2011

Tags: , ,

Category: Photography, Uncategorized

4 Comments

Aperture:f/22
Focal Length:238mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/250 sec
Camera:Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XTi

Llama, briars and barbed wire

On the way to drop kids at school yesterday, I noticed a weathered barn in the morning mist and thought it might make a good photo. I didn’t have time to stop then, but on my way home found a safe place to pull over, get out and get the shot.

As often happens, the image I stopped for didn’t turn out to be my favorite of the day.

Behind me, backlit and in the rising fog, frost on their backs and breath steaming from their nostrils, was a llama and a donkey in a fenced field.

I’ve noticed this pair for ages. They are inseparable. If one reaches over the rickety fence for greener grass, the other reaches over, too. If one creature decides to walk to the other side of the big field, the other is not far behind.

I’ve admired this llama’s regal sillouette often in the morning light. But either I’m rushing from here to there, I can’t find a spot to pull over, or worst torture of all – I’ve left my camera at home that day! (Note to self: always, ALWAYS grab camera on way out the door).

But yesterday morning, I had the time, I had a camera and I had a safe pull-over spot.

Don’t you just love it when a plan finally comes together?

4 comments on “Backlit Llama”

  1. how lovely is that! the perfect sunset it seems!

  2. Love the sun behind the Llama. Just a really soft and sweet shot of such a magnificent animal. Reminds me of the Llama and Donkey (and cat) that used to live not far from me. I miss them. Great photo!


Leave a Reply

