Trip to the Pumpkin Patch

By: danitacahill

Oct 28 2011

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Fall Theme, Landscape Photography, Nature Photography, Photography, Photojournalism

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:32mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/640 sec
Camera:Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XTi

Our topic has been light – which is the most important element in photography. We’ve talked about beautiful glowing autumn light, morning light and back light. Now let’s talk about mid-day light.

I don’t want to call it bad light, although it is harsh, tends to wash-out colors and can leave unattractive shadows on faces. But let’s admit it, if you and your children are going to, say, a pumpkin patch in the middle of the day, you’re not going to NOT take photos because the light isn’t the greatest. Right? Right.

So, for that challenging mid-day light, remember to pop a little flash if you’re taking portraits. Flash will help fill in those unattractive, harsh shadows. And if you choose to place your subject in the shade, you should step into the shade with them.

I’ll share a few photos from a pumpkin patch that my sons and I went to last week. I was there on assignment for the Jefferson Review, a weekly community newspaper. I don’t usually take my kids to work with me, but there was no other reporter to cover the kindergarten pumpkin patch field trip and the editor figured my kids would fit right in. She was right about that. They had a blast!

I’ll share a few shots that either weren’t intended for the newspaper, or that I didn’t send to be considered. The light was challenging, sure, but the subjects here were little children. In a pumpkin patch. I still got plenty of fun photos. I think I sent seven photos total for the editors to choose from to illustrate the story I wrote. Two were chosen and first-rights purchased. The ones I’m posting here, I still retain full rights.

Leave a Reply

