Bucolic Scene

By: danitacahill

Nov 02 2011

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Landscape Photography, Nature, Nature Photography, Photography, Photojournalism

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/9
Focal Length:70mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/320 sec
Camera:Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XTi

I took this one evening a couple weeks ago near Waterloo, Oregon. Driving along, I saw the scene and the nice evening light beyond the tree line. Luckily, I was able to quickly pull over, roll down my pick up window and fire this shot before any traffic came along behind me.

Many times I’ll see something I want to shoot, but can’t pull over safely. Or else I’m pushed for time. Hate that! Those missed shots haunt me. Sometimes for days. Weeks even.

My three-year-old sat on my lap, “helping” me while I was getting this post ready to publish. I asked him what he saw in the picture.

“Trees,” he said. “Gates.”

“What else?” I asked.

“Animals.”

“What kind of animals?”

“Elephants,” he said.

And that, my fellow photographers, is why we always carry our cameras and keep them accessible wheresoever we go – you never know when you may stumble upon bucolic elephant-grazing photo ops. Ha!

Leave a Reply

