Fishing the Alsea

By: danitacahill

Nov 05 2011

Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: Fall Theme, Landscape Photography, Nature, Nature Photography, Photography, Photojournalism, Portrait photography

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5
Focal Length:70mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/30 sec
Camera:Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XTi

Over the next several days, I’ll be sharing photos of a day on the Alsea (AL-see) River. The Alsea empties into the Alsea Bay at the coastal town of Waldport, Oregon (go fighting Irish!). I took the photos 7-12 miles upriver in a community called Tidewater.

I spent over four of my wonder years growing up on this river – fishing, swimming, boating, trying to get a suntan on our boat dock. Not an easy feat so close to the ocean breezes and the maritime weather.

I’ve been back to visit the Alsea twice recently. Once on assignment for Ruralite magazine and once to go salmon fishing with the guide I wrote about and photographed – Jim Sehl of Sehl Guide Service.

I didn’t get much chance to take photos during the fishing trip (but I did catch a nice salmon, so did my father-in-law). These shots are from the magazine shoot. The story (which won Ruralite’s story of the month for November – woo hoo!) just came out Nov. 1.

I sold first rights of the story and the photos. All but one of these shots did not run in the three-page magazine layout.

This shot, to me, characterizes the fisher people of the river.  Most are friendly, down-to-earth and appreciate the beauty of their surroundings and the fish they catch. I love this shot – the colors, the action, the couple spending their morning together on the river.

Leave a Reply

