Oregon Rain

By: danitacahill

Nov 23 2011

Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: Fall Theme, Macro, Nature, Nature Photography, Photography, Reflections

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:86mm
ISO:1600
Shutter:1/250 sec
Camera:Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XTi

It rains in Oregon. A lot. But all that rain makes our state green and our rain forests, well, rain forests. So Oregonians learn to live with flat, rained-on hairdos, tracked-in mud, and getting soaking wet when we do outdoor stuff. Any outdoor event, even in summer, comes with a backup plan of how to provide cover in case it rains.

One morning last week it was – you guessed it – raining. But the kids were in school, I didn’t have anything mega-pressing on my schedule, and I felt like spending some time in nature with my camera.

I headed to a nearby county park, and keeping my camera tucked inside my raincoat in between shooting frames, I did what I could to describe the Oregon rain.

This is what I came up with.

The first photo is a maple leaf floating in the Santiam River. The reflection is of the bridge railing above.

The second shot is of one of the many mushrooms that I have found fascinating enough to photograph this fall.

The third frame is water dripping from a Scotch bloom seedpod.

The fourth frame is — you guessed it again – rain. More accurately, water drops leaking through the bridge into the river below.

The last shot is of wild rose hips.

So this post is in honor of today – the day before Thanksgiving, and yet another rainy day in the beautiful state of Oregon.

Leave a Reply

