The Fish That Didn’t Get Away

By: danitacahill

Feb 06 2012

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Animals, Birds, Nature, Photography, Water

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5
Focal Length:190mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/800 sec
Camera:Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XTi

Back to nature and my crippled egret friend.

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, this egret has a bad leg. You can see here how he is struggling to balance himself on the log right after he speared this fish.

He failed on his first attempt, but stabbed a nice fish on the second try.

I’ve watched great blue herons hunt for frogs and fish numerous times, but always from a distance. I’ve never before had the privilege of watching a snowy white American egret fish. And so close, too!

I started out of my truck that morning armed with two camera bodies. One had a 50 mm lens, the other a 100 mm macro. Both lenses and one camera body are new to me and unfamiliar.

When I spotted the egret, I hurried back to my truck to drop off the newest camera and switch lenses on the older one to a 70-300 mm. I quickly made setting adjustments for the bright morning light as I snuck as near to the fishing bird as I dared.

Man, I love photography!

Copyright Danita Cahill. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

