Camel Whiskers

By: danitacahill

Mar 29 2012

Tags: , , ,

Category: Animals, Farm, Pets, Photography

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:214mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/500 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Camels have some serious whiskers.

I found that out at the Wildlife Safari last month when I took this shot with my long lens.

As I mentioned in my last post, I felt a connection with this female camel. Not exactly sure why.

Years ago, I went to an exotic animal farm on the outskirts of Salem, Oregon. A friend of my ex stepmother’s ex-husband (are you still with me?) was the caretaker of the farm. He got permission from the doctor who owned the farm to give us a tour. There were mostly kangaroos and wallabies (the caretaker Glen said the doctor sold some to Michael Jackson), a few peacocks and a camel named Ivan.

The doctor owned Ivan’s mom when the baby camel was born. The mama camel soon after died, so Ivan was raised on a bottle and was very friendly. He loved to be scratched on the neck. He put his nose in the air in ecstasy as I gave him a good scratching. I imagine this is the root of my interest in camels.

When I traveled to China in 1998, there was a man and his camel at the Great Wall of China. For a fee, visitors could dress like an emperor or empress, sit on the camel and have their photo taken. What I remember most about that camel was his smell, which wafted through the air and up to the wall.

That’s all the camel stories I got. : )

Copyright Danita Cahill. Photo not for sale.

Leave a Reply

