Book Cover Photo

I have been missing in action on this blog lately. And this is the reason.

This is the book cover of my first published novel. It was released Oct. 12. Getting it ready, planning the launch party, then doing promotion and marketing has taken up most all my free time. And then some.

Since this is a photography blog and not a writing blog, I’ll talk about the photo on the cover.

I bought it.

Isn’t that odd for a photographer to buy the photo that goes on their own book cover? Ah, but you see, this is a thriller novel with evil, red-eyed dogs as the bad guys. Had I taken a photo of someone else’s dog (my own are the wrong color or breeds) I would have needed a signed property-release form to use the photo for a book cover. And to be honest, I didn’t want to ask a loving dog owner if I could turn their dog into a wicked, red-eyed villain.

The photo came from a stock photography company called Dreamstime, where I also sell photos. The cover concept is mine, but Christy Keerins did the graphic design. I’m very happy with the end result.

In case you like thrilling, scary books, click here to check out Mist. It will be available in paperback form in about a month.

In the meantime, if you are just dying to read it ; ) but don’t own a Kindle, you can download the Kindle app for free to your PC, laptop, tablet or smart phone. Just look for the directions on Amazon.

8 comments on “Book Cover Photo”

  1. Congratulations – what a thrill to be a book author! Just finishing a project like that is a huge success – but I do wish you healthy sales too.

    • Thanks so much, Ehpem. Appreciate your well wishes. The book took me six years from start to finish. Although the next ones won’t take nearly so long.

  2. My book cover is a finalist in the indie ebook covers for October. Check out the other cool covers here: http://ebookindiecovers.com/october-2012-indie-ebook-cover-awards/

  3. […] them for my book launch party which is coming up this Saturday for the release of my first novel Mist. The decorations, plates and napkins will all be red and black like the book cover colors.  The […]

  4. […] (click here for newspaper article about that) preparations yesterday for my first novel release (click here for details). The six-year-old was already helping – click the back arrow for a shot of him […]

  5. […] The branches are part of the decorations for an upcoming launch party for my first novel, Mist. […]


Leave a Reply

